Lux Series

Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout (Lux series)

6261325Description:
Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

My rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Review: 

This is the first book in the Lux series written by a cliffhanger master Jennifer L. Armentrout. Not only do all of the books in the series have massive cliffhangers, but they are also impossible to put down. These books will grow under your skin like a parasite and they will never leave. Before you start reading these books, I need to warn you, you will become obsessed.

So, let’s stop talking, or in this case, writing, about all the books and just focus on the first one. OBSIDIAN.

When you start reading the book, you get little glimpses of Katy Swartz’s life. We found out that her father died because of brain cancer, that’s why she hated hospitals and their smell, then we founnd out that her mother was constantly working, not because they lack of money, but because she couldn’t stand having nothing to do. Also, they just moved away from Florida.

Well, I think this was pretty understandable. If your relative died, you know, I think you would be pretty upset. It has been a long time since Katy’s dad died, but her mother was still grieving. I really liked the way Jennifer described Katy and her mother’s feelings when it came to Katy’s father. It made everything seem more real.

Katy was also a bookworm and a blogger, like me. She blogged about  books and gave them reviews, just like me. I mean, it never occurred to me that I could blog about books until I read Obsidian. So, thank you Katy for being my inspiration.

She didn’t have a great social life, I mean that in a way that she’d rather be alone on a Friday night, reading a book or writing/recording a review on her laptop. She also loved gardening, a thing her and her father did together. I loved that Jennifer included these things, memories and feelings. Although Katy’s dad died, it still gave us the impression through Armentrout’s marvelous writing that he had once lived.

I liked the beautiful and creative writing ability that Jennifer had. She could describe a place or a situation so well you would feel like you were there.

The characters were all well-written, especially Daemon Black. Now, if you ever tried to write your own story, you would see that it was hard to keep a character true to himself and to his description because your mind raced so much and you wanted to show that he wasn’t so bad after all. For me, I loved Daemon Black for his complex personality because of which I never knew what to expect. He, besides the story and plot twists, was what kept me on my toes.

Well if we focus on Daemon’s looks… I just want to state the obvious right now. Daemon was a total hottie. I loved the way he was introduced into the book, like a badass. One moment he was sweet, caring Daemon that you just couldn’t help but love, the next he was snarky, impossible to stand, cocky, a douchebag, and a hot infuriating mess. He was arrogant, mean with sexy green eyes that intrigued everyone. But the question was… Who wouldn’t be attracted to him?

Katy. Well, not that she wasn’t attracted, she just didn’t let him push her around. She wasn’t the type of girl who would easily let him taunt her. She stood up to him without a problem which made her fierce, feisty and witty. With that came the battles of wit, great comebacks and both characters created great scenes together, making you laugh.

But… Plot twist: Daemon also happened to be Katy’s neighbor.

Eventually, Katy did start to feel something for Daemon, but she kept denying her feelings to herself and to others. In a way, that’s what I liked because it was so unusual for me to find a book where the character didn’t want to be in love.

There is plenty of action in this book, making it impossible to put down. The ending alone was amazing.

I also feel the need to point out that out of all fictional characters, Daemon is one of my favorite bad boys.

So, if this review convinced you to start reading, then I suggest you do it now, because you don’t know what you’re missing.

This is it for this book. Enjoy.

Order book here.

Post written by Desirae Clark.

4 thoughts on “Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout (Lux series)

  1. Hey Maryannah 🙂 Vers nice review! I write my own reviews too but in german. Never thought of reading Obsidian but now it sounds quite interesting 🙂 keep up the good work! Emilina

      1. Oh you’re welcome! Well I wouldnt try to learn it, everybody said is so difficult to learn… But even through my english is not so good i’ll try to write some reviews in english! 🙂

      2. I can certainly agree with them. I’ve been studying german for four years now and I can barely understand anything haha
        As far as I’m concerned, your english seems very good. You shouldn’t underestimate yourself 🙂

Leave a Reply

