Lux Series

Review: Shadows by Jennifer L. Armentrout (novella from the Lux series)

ShadowsDescription:

The last thing Dawson Black expected was Bethany Williams. As a Luxen, an alien life form on Earth, human girls are…well, fun. But since the Luxen have to keep their true identities a secret, falling for one would be insane.

Dangerous. Tempting. Undeniable.

Bethany can’t deny the immediate connection between her and Dawson. And even though boys aren’t a complication she wants, she can’t stay away from him. Still, whenever they lock eyes, she’s drawn in.

Captivated. Lured. Loved.

Dawson is keeping a secret that will change her existence…and put her life in jeopardy. But even he can’t stop risking everything for one human girl. Or from a fate that is as unavoidable as love itself.

My rating: 4 stars out of 5

My review and description:

This isn’t a book, but a prequel/novella to the Lux series. If you really wanted to understand the books in the Lux series better, then I recommend you to read Shadows first.

The story followed two people, Dawson Black and Bethany Williams. Bethany was just a clueless girl, new to this mysterious town. And if you were looking for love-at-first-sight kind of book, this was the one. I was usually not a big fan of those kind of books, but this prequel was a nice change for my taste. The author managed to write the story so detailed, that I felt all this was really happening. I felt like I was there as if I was one of the characters. And that’s what only an excellent author can do.

The whole story to me was really interesting since this was the first alien book I’ve ever read and at first, diving into this kind of genre was a challenge for me. I had no idea what to expect, but thankfully, I was definitely not disappointed.

In this novella, you didn’t get aliens who looked like little green creatures or other sci-fi crap our world would usually expect to see or read about. No, the description of these creatures was far more different. They were called Luxen and in the book, they were described as creatures of light, which was a definitely nice surprise.

The thing was, Luxen and humans shouldn’t mix. Not that there was a specific rule, it’s just that it was dangerous for both kinds. But, the attraction they both felt towards each other forced Dawson and Bethany’s to interact more than they should. See, if a Luxen exposed himself/herself to a human, the human would disappear. There was also a huge chance that the human tried to expose the Luxen and tell others. That’s the reason why Daemon, Dawson’s triplet, but yet still older brother, didn’t agree with Dawson mingling around with Bethany. In fact, he hated it.

Since I read Shadows before the first book in the Lux series, I didn’t know any of the other characters, but only got to know Dawson. Which was great, I just had no idea how overprotective his brother was or the kind of person his sister Dee became. I liked that Beth had art skills, I liked that this was written in both of their point of views and that we got to see what they were like. Without this story, I would be completely lost in Obsidian and other books.

I loved the different personalities and the plot twists this book has introduced me to. I loved the whole world that Jennifer L. Armentrout had created and knew that this series would be one of my favorites.

I think Shadows was really amazing, I’ve enjoyed reading it but only gave it 4 out of 5 stars because I couldn’t wait for it to end, so I could start reading Obsidian, the first book in the Lux series. I know, it’s not fair but hey, isn’t it good if a prequel makes you want to read more?

Order book here.

Post written by Desirae Clark

Leave a Reply

