Divergent Trilogy

Review: Allegiant by Veronica Roth (Divergent Trilogy)

Description:
The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.Told from a riveting dual perspective, Allegiant, by #1 New York Times best-selling author Veronica Roth, brings the Divergent series to a powerful conclusion while revealing the secrets of the dystopian world that has captivated millions of readers in Divergent and Insurgent.My Rating: 3 out of 5 stars
My Review (spoilers!):
Review by Desirae Winterhart (I’m not writing this at the end of this review because the end won’t be so meaningful as I think it is now.) Okay. There’s a reason why I rated this book with 3 stars. But I’m not hating on it. I’m just going to explain why that’s the number of stars I gave it.I expected Allegiant to be like the first two books, something more than what this book honestly gave me.
I loved Insurgent, seriously. I also adored Divergent. But Allegiant just wasn’t that great for me. The whole story was so long and some of the things we just didn’t need to know. It was just dragging on to the point where I almost gave up on it. I started reading it as soon as it came out and put the book down a lot of times until I decided that I need to pick it up again and be done with it. And I had no expectations anymore because the first impression that I got was just: This book is boring and nothing like the first two books. At all.And usually, when I heard people hating on Divergent, it made me extremely mad. It made me furious because I loved the books but this one just didn’t do it for me. I still love the series and I would still love to fangirl over it.And it’s not *spoiler alert*

Tris’s death that makes me not like it, it just got to the point where it got too complicated and I grew more and more frustrated every time. Each time I put this book down, it was harder for me to pick it up.

It revolved too much around Genetically Damaged and Genetically Pure people. Like, why do you want to put a label on it and why does it matter anyway? Tobias way over-reacted when he found out that he wasn’t GP-Genetically Pure. It just revolved too much around it and it made this book so much more boring.

But on the other side, I loved the character development and the whole thing with people trying to make the world a better place. The whole book showed the reader the corruptness of government and people. It also showed me how people can change and hat grief is a terrible thing.

I fell in love with Tris’ mind and her way of thinking, but I got angry with Tobias when he chose not to put some trust into her words and at least have some doubts about people around him always telling the truth. I think he was just eager and desperate to believe into something and believe that not all people are bad – which they aren’t – only he should choose to trust the right ones.

I was sad when I read about Uriah not waking up. He was always there for Tris and always cheered her up. He was like a rock, a person who, for me, made every bad situation seem not so bad. Uriah was probably one of my favorite people in Divergent. The fact that he died also made me feel like it’s all right, at least he and Tris will be together wherever they are. I would honestly hate to see him go through the same emotions that every person he loved went through.

I actually liked Caleb and I didn’t stay mad at him at all. I think Tris’s anger was understandable, but at the same time pointless. It was obvious that Caleb was regretting his decisions just like she was hers. She killed Will, whom she loved and he almost killed her. I think that she lost so many people that she should just realize that holding grudges was meaningless when life was so short.

Peter also wanted to change who he was, be a better person but I feel like he didn’t know how and that was the reason that he erased his memory. He chose to start over and I really liked it.

I absolutely despise David though. I feel like he should have been executed and I wouldn’t even regret it if he was.

Evelyn and Tobias’ relationship was fixed and I liked how they were a family again. I feel like the Tobias we knew was just gone. I missed Tobias we met in the first book and read about in the second. He was brave and determined, but in Allegiant all he was is insecure, like a small child, ready to make hasty decisions based on almost false information.

Another honorable mention here should go to Tori, who shall rest in peace and live forever in our hearts. Christina and Cara should also be mentioned for their determination to make the world a better place.

I understand why Tris died though. I liked the way she died. It was brave, just like she was. She was so many things, beautiful, smart, brave, selfless, loyal, a fighter for justice and also a great person and it made me feel honored that Veronica let me into her life, read her story and live through it. It made me feel so many things and I was happy that she died – even though she did not die peacefully – with forgiveness and love. She forgave every single one she had to and she let the people she loved know that she did love them no matter what.

Her memory will always live inside me and inside these books and I think, that we should honor Tris every single day by being selfless, brave, kind, smart and at the same time thoughtful, honest and also the best person we can be. I think we should honor Tris by being what she was. We should be all those things. We should be Divergent.

Order book here.

Post written by Desirae Clark.

Leave a Reply

