Lunar Chronicles

Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer (The Lunar Chronicles)

Description:1204907
Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Review:
I’m not going to do a review like I usually do –  a long one, explaining the whole story. And there’s a reason why. Because I cannot be sure if it’s safe enough. I might accidentally slip and tell you a spoiler without realizing it so that’s the reason why this review is going to be shorter and much different.

May I just state that this book series is absolutely incredible! The Lunar Chronicles is just a fantastic series to which a reader will get hooked!

The whole series is based on fairy tales, but transformed into a modern age storytelling everyone would enjoy. The first book – the one I’m going to talk about – is called Cinder and you might’ve already guessed it… it’s based on the tale of Cinderella.

Not only has Marissa Meyer incorporated children’s stories and fairy tales into her book but she also added them special twists and this book is such a fast-read that you just can’t put down. I read it in one sitting. Although the story is much different, with different plot twists and many emotional moments, in the end, you still know that it’s similar to Cinderella’s life.

And can I just say that I am so inspired and never have I loved fairy tales more in my life. This was just a beautiful and well thought-through series which you realize in the second book named Scarlet and third book called Cress. It is so well connected and again, AMAZINGLY thought-through. Oh my Gods, someone call an ambulance because never have I felt so thrilled and excited to see what happens next!

The characters were likeable, the story was so unusual yet so intriguing you can’t help but read on.

If you haven’t read Cinder yet and are just reading reviews to see if you should, let me tell you something. Put down whatever book you’re reading and replace it with Cinder! Now. You will not regret this decision, I promise you!

Order book here.

Post written by Desirae Clark.

Leave a Reply

