The Rain · Virginia Bergin

Review: The Rain by Virginia Bergin

Description:¬†It’s in the rain…and just one drop will kill you.

They don’t believe it at first. Crowded in Zach’s kitchen, Ruby and the rest of the partygoers laugh at Zach’s parents’ frenzied push to get them all inside as it starts to drizzle. But then the radio comes on with the warning, “It’s in the rain! It’s fatal, it’s contagious, and there’s no cure.”

Two weeks later, Ruby is alone. Anyone who’s been touched by rain or washed their hands with tap water is dead. The only drinkable water is quickly running out. Ruby’s only chance for survival is a treacherous hike across the country to find her father-if he’s even still alive.

I give it: 5/5 Stars

Whoa. Okay I don’t know where to start….

You’ve probably read the description of this book so I won’t tell you what’s it about. But here’s my review:

THIS BOOK IS BY FAR THE BEST BOOK I’VE EVER READ!

If you’re into apocalyptic/fight-to-survive/teenage books then this is the read for you.

Before you start reading, I recommend setting up a camp in your room, somewhere you’re alone, bring popcorn or snacks (make sure it’s not water), if it’s raining close the window and enjoy!

I’m absolutely in love with the author’s writing style. Virginia Bergin’s work was not only refreshing, but one you can’t help but read in one sitting. Stimulating, beautifully written work that will keep you at the edge of your seat.

No spoilers ahead.

This book starts with the main character Ruby being at a party. Now, let me tell you the one thing I notice first when it comes to reading a book. I always notice the writing style of the author and then as I go on reading the book, I forget about it. But as I was reading¬†The Rain, I couldn’t help but admire and appreciate the way it was written. With all the examples and Ruby’s compelling story-telling, you can’t help but feel this wonderful atmosphere and even laugh at some points. Even though… people are dying.

Yeah, I might be a bad person. Anyway, what I like most it’s that this book isn’t too dark. It isn’t really that depressing and it has just the right measure of humor in it. I think Ruby’s reaction was so realistic, even though at times I wanted to tell her she shouldn’t be wasting time on her hair but go out and get something to drink and eat.

Obviously, this girl hasn’t read that many apocalyptic books. All jokes aside, the reason this book is my favorite is because YOU NEVER RUN OUT OF ANY PLOT TWISTS.

This book gives you plot twists until the end. Oh my Gods, never in my life have I ever read a book that’s so intense, in a way. The surprises just keep on coming and when you think nothing can surprise you anymore…. BAM! You get another plot twist.

The events in this book are so full of imagination and I admire Virginia Bergin so much for creating this world… this story.

I just… I don’t want to spoil anything for you guys but you NEED to read it ASAP!

Order book here

Post written by Desirae Clark

Leave a Reply

