Cassandra Clare · Covenant · jennifer l. armentrout · jojo moyes · Lady Midnight · list of books · me before you · sarah j. maas · Throne of Glass

Top 5 Books I’ve Read This Summer

I’ve managed to read a lot of books this summer and many of them will always have a special place in my heart. I will definitely be re-reading most of them sometime in the future.

I can’t decide which of these books are my favorite, so the list is in no particular order.

1. ME BEFORE YOU by Jojo Moyes

IMG_4439

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.
What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.
Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.
What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

To be completely honest with you, I bought this book because the movie was about to come out and I prefer to read a book before watching a movie.
I was sure I was going to watch a movie, because I was fangirling really hard when I found out that Emilia Clarke (Game of Thrones) and Sam Claflin (The Hunger Games) were cast as the lead roles in it.
I was left with no other choice than to read the book.

It took me a day and a half to finish this book.
I haven’t written a review, but let me know if you want one.

WHY READ THIS BOOK?

Because it’s an easy, emotional read that will make you appreciate your life and will convince you to make a bucket list of your own… or was that just me?

2. LADY MIDNIGHT by Cassandra Clare

IMG_4438

In a kingdom by the sea…
In a secret world where half-angel warriors are sworn to fight demons, parabatai is a sacred word.
A parabatai is your partner in battle. A parabatai is your best friend. Parabatai can be everything to each other—but they can never fall in love.
Emma Carstairs is a warrior, a Shadowhunter, and the best in her generation. She lives for battle. Shoulder to shoulder with her parabatai, Julian Blackthorn, she patrols the streets of Los Angeles, where vampires party on the Sunset Strip, and faeries—the most powerful of supernatural creatures—teeter on the edge of open war with Shadowhunters. When the bodies of humans and faeries turn up murdered in the same way Emma’s parents were when she was a child, an uneasy alliance is formed. This is Emma’s chance for revenge—and Julian’s chance to get back his brother Mark, who is being held prisoner by the faerie Courts. All Emma, Mark, and Julian have to do is solve the murders within two weeks…and before the murderer targets them.
Their search takes Emma from sea caves full of sorcery to a dark lottery where death is dispensed. And each clue she unravels uncovers more secrets. What has Julian been hiding from her all these years? Why does Shadowhunter Law forbid parabatai to fall in love? Who really killed her parents—and can she bear to know the truth?
The darkly magical world of Shadowhunters has captured the imaginations of millions of readers across the globe. Join the adventure in Lady Midnight, the long-awaited first volume of a new trilogy from Cassandra Clare.

She did it again. Cassandra Clare did it again!

For everyone who has read The Mortal Instruments or The Infernal Devices know what I am talking about and this book was probably one of your must reads.

Cassie has written so many books about Shadowhunters that I really thought she couldn’t came up with another story that would force me to keep on reading until the very end. Luckily, I was wrong. She did that and a lot more.

That book was perfect. Emma was perfect. Julian was perfect. Christina was perfect. … well I think you know where I’m going with this.

One question, before I continue with my list. Did anyone else start screaming (out loud or inside their head) when our favorite characters from previous books came into the story?

WHY READ THIS BOOK?

Because Emma is grown up and even more badass than Izzy and Clary ever were. She is pure awesomeness.

3. THRONE OF GLASS series by Sarah J. Maas

IMG_4449

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.
Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her … but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.
Then one of the other contestants turns up dead … quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

Celaena Sardothien is by far my favorite character ever. She is fearless, sassy, resourceful, sarcastic, strong, badass, … and yet she can also be sensible and a regular teenage girl.

After reading this series I wanted to be an assassin (luckily, I’m not persistent and disciplined enough to start training). I also wanted to learn swordplay, parkour and many other things that Sarah manages to describe extremely well. Sometimes too well because a lot of times I wanted to put the book down and start training immediately.
This happens to me every time I read a good book.

WHY READ THIS SERIES?

Because it contains more plot twists than you could ever imagine. It has magic (eventually), badass assassins, cool story and a handsome prince.
Well, of course there are others beside the prince, but they don’t have a cool, high title like him.

4. COVENANT series by Jennifer L. Armentrout

IMG_4440

The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi pure bloods have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals–well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures.
Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden. Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem–staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is.
If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck.

DISCLAIMER: I’ve only read Half-Blood and Pure. I’ve ordered Deity, Apollyon and Sentinel, but I am still waiting for it to arrive.

These books made me more antisocial than I’ve ever been in my entire life.
I was sitting with a book in hand, headphones in my ears and ignoring the whole world for two straight days until I finished reading. I was cursing the whole world because I haven’t had other books with me.

Ugh, I just love Greek mythology so much and books like that make me want to cry because I am not a demigod.

JLA, why do you have to write so many good books? Why do your stories have to be so damn interesting? And why is it killing me not knowing what will happen with Alex, Seth and Aiden?

A piece of advice, when you start reading this series, make sure you have all books in this series (that’s how addicting they are).
Advice on how to read: turn off your phone and ignore everyone around you.
Preferable location of reading: deserted island, empty park or just lock your bedroom door.

WHY READ THIS SERIES?

Percy Jackson meets Vampire Academy. Need I say more?

5. A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES series by Sarah J. Maas

IMG_4443

She stole a life. Now she must pay with her heart.
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she knows about only from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

DISCLAIMER: I am currently reading A Court of Mist and Fury so no spoilers, please.

One of the best fairy tale retellings that I’ve ever read, not that I’ve read many.
This book was a masterpiece with satisfying plot twists, which I’m beginning to think are one of Sarah’s strong suits.

Another strong and independent female character. World of faeries and magic. What more could you wish for?

WHY READ THIS SERIES?

Because of its unique take on a fairy tale Beauty and the Beast. Its strong characters and its power of making you consider who the real beasts and monsters really are.

Order books here:
– Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare
Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
Covenant by Jennifer L. Armentrout
A Court of Throns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Written by Anya Blackhart-Clark

Leave a Reply

