review · sarah j. maas · Throne of Glass

Review: Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

SPOILER FREE (mostly, because I’m not quite sure what counts as a spoiler for some people, so I won’t say it is COMPLETELY spoiler free)

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those who don’t.
As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.
Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

In my opinion, every new book from Throne of Glass series so far was better than the last. Before you start reading Empire of Storms, you must read The Assassin’s Blade. It is crucial to the story.

My favorite character this time wasn’t Celaena (from now on Aelin), but surprisingly it was Manon. Despite all of Aelin’s swagger and skill, I think she was a bit soft. Manon on the other hand was full of disdain for everything and everyone. Yes, she was a bit softer than in Queen of Shadows, but there was still something in her scenes that made me want to wish the chapter would never end. Her transformation into the  Crochan Queen and her transformation in behaviour toward our favorite characters was priceless. She was still mean, but she didn’t exactly mean it. She just had a reputation to uphold. Does that make sense?

Sarah J. Maas’ characters have an amazing development. You can see their struggle, feel their sorrow and cheer for their survival. I don’t know why, but I have a feeling that at the end, Sarah will turn into George R. R. Martin and left us all weeping in the corner. Let’s hope that won’t happen, but still …

Aelin is not only Queen of Terrassen, Queen Who Was Promised, but she is also The Queen of deceit. Her secrets are so well guarded that not even her closest companions have a clue they even exist. Of course, her secrets are sooner or later – in this case later – revealed and they make for one hell of a plot twist which will make you gasp with excitement and probably fill your eyes with a couple of tears. Just remember how she managed to plan everything with Arobynn’s fortune without us suspecting anything.

I admire Sarah for connecting ALL books in this one. When you read some of the previous books, there were scenes that I didn’t deem important. Oh, boy, was I wrong. Everything is important. Everything matters. You’ll see what I’m talking about.

Also, I like Sarah’s type of writing and the way she describes the scenes. It makes me feel like I’m there. I remember my sister (Desirae) once saying to me when I was writing, that I have to show, not tell a reader about a scene. That’s how Sarah writes her scenes. She shows, not tells. If you are a writer, you know that this is harder than it sounds.

The book sparked all kinds of emotions in me. Some scenes I was laughing, and other I was crying. Isn’t it amazing how one book can make you feel all those emotions – joy, sadness, anger, fear, … – I call that a masterpiece.

As usual, this is the type of story that grips you from page one and makes you keep turning the pages, until there is none left. I feel sorry for us lot, who have to wait a whole year for her next book. I still have hope that we will survive, even though it will be hard. Especially after the ending like that… I’m sure you feel me.

I would love to write more about the story and it’s characters, but I don’t want to spoil anything for anyone. I am, however, more than happy to talk about the book, so feel free to leave a comment.

I don’t mind a cliffhanger ending, actually I think I like endings like that. But what I don’t like is when a book ends with a cliffhanger and I have to wait for so long before that issue can be resolved.

I know I kept praising Empire of Storms. I tried writing objective review, but what is a point in writing a review if I write it like a robot. Instead, I wrote it from a point of view of a reader and a fangirl. I love Throne of Glass series. It is one of my favorite series ever and it is a MUST HAVE book on a bookshelf. I love Sarah J. Maas and she is one of the authors whose book I buy without even checking what it is about.

I can’t help but compare this series a little to George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series. Both series are very well thought through, both have a lot of cunning and scheming, both have war, love, friendship and more than I could possibly write without making this review too long. Let me know if you think those series could be compared.

All in all, the book was great… Even more than great, it was a true masterpiece. I have no problem understanding why it was one of the most expecting books this year.

My Rating: 5/5

Post written by Anya Blackhart-Clark

CHECK OUT THE BOOK HERE

One thought on “Review: Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

