review · Uncategorized

Review: The Kingdom of Oceana by Mitchell Charles

28129039

SURFER SHARK TAMER FIRE WALKER EXPLORER TEENAGER HERO
Five Centuries Ago, On the Island Now Called Hawaii, There was a Kingdom Filled with Adventure, Beauty, and Magic.
When 16-year-old Prince Ailani and his brother Nahoa trespass on a forbidden burial ground and uncover an ancient tiki mask, they unleash a thousand-year-old curse that threatens to destroy their tropical paradise. As warring factions collide for control of Oceana, it sparks an age-old conflict between rival sorcerers that threatens to erupt-just like Mauna Kea, the towering volcano.
With the help of his ancestral spirit animals, his shape shifting sidekick, and a beautiful princess, Prince Ailani must overcome his own insecurities, a lifetime of sibling rivalry, and a plague of cursed sea creatures brought forth by the tiki’s spell.
Can peace be restored to the kingdom?
Can Prince Ailani claim his rightful place as the future king of Oceana?
ONLY ONE CAN RULE.

koo-title-treatment-25

We were sent this book in exchange for an honest review. I will try to keep it spoiler free.

Ailani was a great character. I felt he was easy to relate to, especially with all the sibling rivalry that was going on. He had a couple of insecurities, but I believe that makes it even better, especially when we follow him on his journey to overcome them.

Main character was likeable enough, although his brother was written as a bit too obvious sort of villain. Nahoa was the complete opposite of Ailani (I really like this name!).

However, I didn’t feel that the characters were real. I felt that the characters were missing some deepness and as much as the writer tried to get some sort of character development going on, he succeeded only partly.

On the other hand, story was so random, fresh and new to me that it kept me guessing until the very end. I had no idea what exactly the curse was, who was responsible for it and how to get rid of it. It was quite entertaining to be honest.

This book was quite interesting to read. If I didn’t have so much school work, I would probably have read it in one sitting. Story was enticing. It was simple, quick and enjoyable read. It was remarkably fast paced. At times made me thought that it was maybe a bit hastily written, because some scenes felt a little rushed.

The book mentioned so many places and islands, I can’t help but think that a map would be useful.

Also, the story was a bit confusing at times, making it hard for me to follow. But that could be because the writer used so many foreign words, which were explained, but made it a bit difficult to get into the story and paint its picture in my head, because I had to constantly scroll toward the end of the page and look for translation.

I also feel that the story didn’t have a real ending and I hope that a sequel is in the works as we speak, because I would like to know what journey lies ahead of Ailani, Momi, Puhi and even Nahoa.

I would especially recommend this book to younger readers, because overall it is an easy story to read and I believe they would enjoy it and possibly don’t even see its faults.

The greater the challenge, the bigger the reward.

My Rating: 3/5

Post written by Anya Blackhart-Clark

One thought on “Review: The Kingdom of Oceana by Mitchell Charles

Leave a Reply

