review · Uncategorized

Review: Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold by Iain Reading

32946791

SPOILER FREE (mostly, because I’m not quite sure what counts as a spoiler for some people, so I won’t say it is COMPLETELY spoiler free)

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold is the thrilling first installment in a new series of adventure mystery stories that are one part travel, one part history and five parts adventure. This first book of the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series introduces Kitty Hawk, an intrepid teenage pilot with her own De Havilland Beaver seaplane and a nose for mystery and intrigue. A cross between Amelia Earhart, Nancy Drew and Pippi Longstocking, Kitty is a quirky young heroine with boundless curiosity and a knack for getting herself into all kinds of precarious situations.

After leaving her home in the western Canadian fishing village of Tofino to spend the summer in Alaska studying humpback whales Kitty finds herself caught up in an unforgettable adventure involving stolen gold, devious criminals, ghostly shipwrecks, and bone-chilling curses. Kitty’s adventure begins with the lingering mystery of a sunken ship called the Clara Nevada and as the plot continues to unfold this spirited story will have armchair explorers and amateur detectives alike anxiously following every twist and turn as they are swept along through the history of the Klondike Gold Rush to a suspenseful final climatic chase across the rugged terrain of Canada’s Yukon, the harsh land made famous in the stories and poems of such writers as Jack London, Robert Service and Pierre Berton. It is a riveting tale that brings to glorious life the landscape and history of Alaska’s inside passage and Canada’s Yukon, as Kitty is caught up in an epic mystery set against the backdrop of the scenery of the Klondike Gold Rush.

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold is a perfect book to fire the imagination of readers of all ages. Filled with fascinating and highly Google-able locations and history this book will inspire anyone to learn and experience more for themselves as Kitty prepares for her next adventure – flying around the world!

We’ve got this book from an author in exchange for an honest review and that is exactly what I am going to write.

I don’t know what kind of formats of this book are out there, but the one we got was a bit bigger (kind of like Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard) and the words were very small (like in Outlander by Diana Gabaldon or in Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin) so at times it felt a lot like reading a newspaper. Even though I felt the need to mention that, I didn’t find it a bother, because paragraphs were very nicely constructed.

Considering that letters are small, I like the fact that there are a lot of chapters and that chapters were quite short. Somehow it made me feel more accomplished after I finished reading page after page, chapter after chapter. It was easier to continue reading on knowing that chapters are short. Not that they were bad, its just that sometimes, especially late at night, it’s easier to convince myself to read ‘just one more chapter’ if I know that chapters are short.

Kitty Hawk is a very likeable and easy to relate to type of character. She’s a teenage girl who planned her summer very carefully and even though there was ‘a shortage of money’, that didn’t stop her. She passionately petitioned for what she cared about and eventually got her wish. Her summer didn’t went exactly as she planned, but I am sure she wouldn’t change it for the world (if you have read the book, no pun intended – accidental nod to the epilogue).

The fact that four brothers were considered villains, that didn’t stop me from liking them. Their dynamic and organisation skills are out of this world. I usually don’t use this phrase nor do I like it, but in this case I think it’s only right to use it – they are #brothergoals.

I am very glad for the plot twist near the end because it made the book a lot better and exciting!

It was very interesting to read about the gold rush, and even more exciting when I learned that it was actually based on real life as much as it could be. Very educating and nicely described!

I don’t know whether it was the book or just me being in a weird book funk, but somehow this book took me longer to finish than I am willing to admit.

I don’t know why, but I would kind of compare this series to Enid Blyton’s Famous Five series of books. Both are full of adventures and lovable characters.

To finish my review, it was an interesting and definitely one of a kind read. I would recommend it to young readers, especially fans of adventures and humpback whale lovers (you can learn many interesting things).

My Rating: 3.5/5

Post written by Anya Blackhart-Clark

One thought on “Review: Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold by Iain Reading

Leave a Reply

