Uncategorized

Why Book Hangovers Are a Pain In The Ass

Hello fellow bloggers!

Desirae here. Long time no see, huh? How’s life, you ask?

Well, let me answer that for you. My life is absolutely boring. Stressful and exhausting, but boring nonetheless. For the past four months, I’ve been on book deprivation. For some unknown reason, I fell into a book slump I can’t seem to get out of. No book blurb has caught my attention enough for me to pick up and start reading. Not yet, anyway.

So I find myself here, writing to you, describing the pain of being away from fictional universes and stories that are (and always will be) beyond better from the reality. I desperately need an escape!

I want to dive into a world that will sweep me off my feet and find my passion for reading once more. I know I want to do it, I just can’t seem to start. Do you have any suggestions as to what books I should read? I prefer Fantasy, Young Adult fiction books but I also love something summer-ish (such as Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson). I enjoy reading apocalyptic books as well (I liked The 5th Wave – wish I could say the same for the second book, loved The Rain by Virginia Bergin).

So yeah, leave your suggestions in the comments 😉

Anyway, today I’m here to give you a few points on why book hangovers suck! (Not that you need any more convincing).

1. YOUR ENTHUSIASM OVER READING STARTS TO DETERIORATE

Alright, this one’s pretty obvious. Every one of us readers has to face this problem at some point. It’s when your brain tells you it’s had enough reading for a while, whether it’s because of a certain book (*cough* A Court of Mist and Fury *cough*) or simply reading too many books that you eventually stopped enjoying them.

For me, book hangovers also pay a visit when I get bored of a certain genre and need a change for a while.

So I give a different genre a try and hope it gets me out of that book slump I’m about to fall into. But somehow, that book didn’t help at all. In fact, my brain was so convinced that it needs a break by that point that I simply cannot even look at a book.

So a week passes, then two and before you know it, it’s been two months and you’re starting to longingly glance at your bookshelf.

Which brings me to number two.

2. YOU START TO MISS READING BUT CAN’T ENJOY IT IF IT’S FORCED

It appears you’re in a hopeless situation. You want to read, but you’re not at that level yet where it feels natural. It’s as if you’re forcing yourself into it.

If you’re lucky, you’ll find a book that will catch your attention and make you excited about it. It will motivate you enough to dive into the wonderful world of books once again.

But if you’re among the less fortunate population (like me), you have to wait it out until these sad, sad times pass.

3. YOU FALL BEHIND ON YOUR GOODREADS CHALLENGE

This sucks especially if you were six books ahead! I mean, come on! Just when you think you can read 100 books this year, it all gets ruined. Great.

4. MISSING OUT ON ALL THE LATEST POPULAR BOOKS

Book trends are the ones most people tend to follow. The more a book is being advertised/talked about, the more people will decide to give it a try. So when you’re in the phase of book drought, you also miss out on being a part of newest book discussions.

If you have a bookstagram (link to mine is here), you tend to see people posting pictures of their current reads or what they’ve just finished and you feel curious, but not enough to save you from this hell you’re going through.

And if you’re extra unlucky, you start to become discouraged to ever check this book out because the more you see it advertised, the more you become sick of it.

5. YOU FEEL AS IF A PART OF YOU IS MISSING

The last point I’m going to make is that if you’re a massive book lover like me, reading is a part of you. You can’t go a day without it. It’s your way of life. It comes natural and distracts you, amuses you, makes you fall in love with certain things,…

So when you’re unable to do something you’re in love with, you start to feel like you’re missing your better half. You’re not whole, you’re not being the best version you can be. It feels wrong and almost… depressing.

Book hangovers are a reader’s worst nightmare because without books, we’re not really living to our full extent.

***

Thank you for reading and seeing how book hangovers impact me.

What are your opinions on them? Do you have something to add?

Love you,

Desirae Clark ❤

2 thoughts on “Why Book Hangovers Are a Pain In The Ass

  1. I go through this all the time! The feeling that you want to read but can’t pick up a book is my most common symptom. I have found that listening to an audiobook helps cure this, because I just have to press play instead of sit down and open the book! Hope yours goes away soon!

Leave a Reply

